Courses and exams at Queen’s

Hey everyone! As the semester is ending and exams are coming up, I’m taking advantage of the down time to write this. I only have one exam to take and a few papers to hand in, so the level of stress is lower than usual. From what my friends who already had exams told me, the exam system here is quite similar to the one in Maastricht.

Overall, I really enjoyed the courses that I took here at Queen’s. Here’s a list of my classes:

  • Marketing Communications (COMM335): low level of workload; highly recommend. The professor is awesome and super nice, and his lectures are always interesting. The course itself isn’t very demanding, but we have to participate in a nationwide advertising competition and regularly work on that, which I found really challenging and stimulating at the same time.
  • Leadership (COMM351): high level of workload; highly recommend. The lectures can be quite boring, but the professor is great and very attentive to his students. What I truly loved about this course was the team project, for which we worked the entire semester. We had to organise or choose a local social project to take on, and afterwards reflect on how it improved our leadership skills. It was unlike anything I had ever done at university, and I had a great time working on it.
  • Managing Across Cultures (COMM353): medium level of workload; recommend. I found this course quite interesting, and it is super easy since the professor provides note-taking sheets that you only have to fill in. He is extremely meticulous and attentive to details, which can be tough for assignments and probably the upcoming exam. However, I really enjoyed the team project.
  • Business Communications in North America (COMM370): low level of workload; highly recommend. This course is only for exchange students, which means that it’s way easier than what we’re used to in Maastricht. The lectures themselves aren’t always very interesting, but I learned a lot of valuable things by doing the assignments. Also, the professor is super nice and she really cares about us (she knew all the names of the 50+ students in the class by the second week).
  • Critical Perspectives on Business (COMM407): medium level of workload; highly recommend. This was by far my favorite class. It was unlike any course I’ve had at university so far, since the professor exposes the negative side of our capitalist society instead of praising it business school-style (hence the name of the class). He is very interesting to listen to, and he is also always interested in what we students have to say. At the end of the semester, he invited the exchange students of the class at his house for a potluck dinner, and I had an awesome time.

All in all, I was very satisfied with my course choices. I had a good balance of laid back courses and more demanding ones, and they were all interesting in their own way.

Now, back to studying. Until next time!

Leave a comment